Friday, October 30, 2009

womens health initiative

Hormone replacement therapy (HRT) had been used to treat menopausal estrogen deficiency for decades but the 2002 publication of a major study, the Women's Health Initiative (WHI), indicated increased risk for certain outcomes in older ...Oestrogen plus progestin and lung cancer in postmenopausal women (Women's Health Initiative trial): a post-hoc analysis of a randomised controlled trial The Lancet DOI: 10.1016/S0140-6736(09)61526-9 ...However, the 2002 publication of a major study, the Women's Health Initiative (WHI), indicated increased risk for certain outcomes in older women, without increasing mortality. This sparked debate regarding potential benefits or harm of ...The most obvious reason is the result of several sensationalized interpretations of the famous WHI (Women's Health Initiative) "Prempro" data first out in 2002. While the attempt to objectify the effects of post-menopausal hormone ...The researchers examined records of 76861 postmenopausal and predominantly white women ages 50-79 enrolled in the Women's Health Initiative Observational Study. Parks and colleagues focused on questions relating to farm history and ...There's a controversy in the medical community about hormone replacement therapy and that's because there was a large study called the Women's Health Initiative where they looked at 15000 women which were on estrogen-replacement therapy ...The Women's Health Initiative trial was a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial that involved 16608 postmenopausal women aged 50-79 years. The women were randomly assigned to receive placebo or combined HRT and were then ...BC/EFA is the major supporter of seven programs at The Actors' Fund a�� including The AIDS Initiative, The Phyllis Newman Women's Health Initiative, The Al Hirschfeld Free Health Clinic, The Dancers' Resource and three supportive housing ...Published in 1998, the HERS study showed that women who already had heart disease would increase their risk of a heart attack if they received estrogen therapy. This was followed in 2002 by the Women's Health Initiative (WHI), ...In 2002 the National Institutes of Health released the results of studies that found that women receiving HRT were at higher risk of breast cancer, strokes and heart attacks. The studies, part of the Women's Health Initiative, ...

Thursday, October 29, 2009

taking initiative on the job

That is why you need to stay organized, make deadlines, communicate with fellow team members and make sure you are getting your job done correctly. You also need to take initiative and be one step ahead of the game. ...It may also make it easier for you to think of additional questions to ask prior to accepting a job offer. Once employed, continue to demonstrate enthusiasm by taking initiative and seeking new and more challenging work. ...Top 11 Job-Hunting Mistakes. October 29, 2009 A� Leave a Comment. Who doesn't like Top 10 (or 11) Lists? So here are the top 11 mistakes made by students when looking for a job: 11) Blaming The Economy: Take ownership and initiative. ...A version of the anti-abortion initiative soundly defeated by Colorado voters in 2008 is making its way to the 2010 ballot, this time reworked as an "egg-as-a-person" initiative. This new version would move the legal ... Can't see taking the kids out of school but, while I'm opposed to their cause -- yet still find abortion to be a sad, sometimes necessary procedure -- I'm glad someone at least recognizes that there are far more important things than being a wage slave. ...... an email from my econ professor about how the census bureau was actively hiring students with econ backgrounds. till this point, i had hoped to find a government job. not exactly great pay, but good benefits and good job security. furthermore, ... i looked frantically for some sort of sign saying "dont worry, we moved to _____," or, "we're starting an hour later today" or, "congratulations, daniel! this is all a test, you win a million dollars for taking initiative. ...Ability to use own initiative and work as part of a team. a�? Ability to work well under pressure in an international environment and adapt efficiently to a different culture. Compensation. DOS position: A?430 per week .... We also suggest a legally-binding agreement/contract is signed between the job-seeker and employer, prior to taking up employment. Views expressed by advertisers/contributors are not necessarily those of TEFL Professional Network or its management or ...Instead of paying cash for capital improvements, as happens now, the city would likely need to take on debt to meet the challenges of new housing and job growth. The initiative undercuts our conservative financial planning and would ...Problem-solving skills, being proactive and taking initiative. 2. Water Sanitation Specialist Responsible for day to day operations of WASH program in the area affected by the earth quake in West Sumatra. ...Leaders do not tell people what has to be done, instead they show them the way by taking initiative and doing things first. Leaders show them that if they follow the leader they are going to fulfill their hearts desire. What is the chief focus for a manager? .... By: deepak1 | Oct 29th 2009 - Working as a writer has long been a popular work at home job. It has become an increasingly viable way to earn a good income, as the Internet has increased the possibilities. You . ...Given the current economic situation final year students at university positioning themselves to enter the job market in 2010, there isn't much cause for optimism. This year's graduate market had fewer vacancies and with unemployment continuing to rise, students are bound to feel ... Top employers set high standards and are looking for engineers with good social and communication skills who can work in teams and work with customers and who can take the initiative. ...
When my boyfriend and I started dating and I somewhat put the moves on him first since he was 5 years younger and oh so shy. There were some bumps in the road at first, with girls trying to break us up, my best friends betraying me because I was going out with her best friend, my boyfriend and such. I said I love you first, and maybe a week later he said he loved me back. At first he said he didn't love me because he thought it was too soon and wanted to be sure. It was three months into the relationship. I have my own place, and so the 7 months that we have been together he has been staying with me, now we are moving out and he has nothing to offer into us moving in together except don't worry, I'll help you. Help me, what about me helping him. I opened up a savings account under our name and I put the majority of the money in there. I am the one who has more money to save buy furniture and he really has nothing to contribute except driving me around since I don't have a car. He is young, he is 23 and I am 27, is that a too big of a gap. I feel like I am taking the lead in the relationship and that does not make me feel sexy or special. He has no idea what he is doing and has a shit paying job, but that he loves, and goes to school part time. I already graduated. I love him so much but I feel like he's 5 steps behind me. I want someone to help me move forward not feel backward. I feel like I have been taking the initiative throughout the whole relationship. And when I try to explain this to him he cries and says he will soon get a good job and take care of me and he loves me so much and he knows he can't do it now but he wants to be able to provide for me and be the man that I want him to be. I am so sad because I love him so much and I know he loves me so much, and I just don't feel special. T.O.R.N>/....


Here's the question: Should people on welfare have to pay back the money a little at a time when they get a real job? Shouldn't it be just a loan.I know a few that used welfare for 5 plus years. Now are working making good money, I just think they should pay it back into the fund. I think if they knew they were going to have to pay it back, then they wouldn't take atvantage of it.

... and here's my answer that got deleted because it is "Hate Speech & Violence": Either that or we could kill them. The disadvantaged are extremely inconvenient and expensive, and in this economic climate, we probably can no longer afford such a luxury. Surley, killing the disadvantaged would dramatically ease tax burdens and that would undoubtedly stimulate the economy and create new jobs. Forcing humans into idle deprivation then making them pay back the expense of their minimal survival sounds nowhere near punitive enough to me and if we are truly serious about productivity then we will kill the unproductive to stimulate proper self-initiative.

... and these are my follow up questions:
1) Isn't parody an obvious form of criticism of that which it imitates and therefore something other than the thing it imitates, such as 'hate speech & violence'?
2) Why would any self-respecting conservative indulging in stereotypical latently violent hatred of the unfortunate and vulnerable object to hate & violence anyway? Isn't my response precisely the kind of reinforcing encouragement the latently violent and hateful conservative seeks with such a question?
3) Who is so literal that they fail to recognize such obvious parody?


I am a junior at New Trier High School, one of the most competitive school's in the nation. I am Chinese and as a child, my mother has always pushed me so hard in school. I can't take it anymore. It has gotten to a point that I hate my mom, although she cares for me - but on a superficial, and not emotional, level. All she does is provide me with food, shelter, and etc. She doesn't teach me any emotional values, never tells me to pursue my dreams as getting money is probably the safest route for me to take and me doing so would put her mind at ease. She has this idea that I will only be happy in life if I'm rich, which will only happen if I get a good job, which will only happen if I go to a good school. All I believe I need to be happy is to have a job that I love to do - the money doesn't matter, for the most part.

My mother isn't completely ridiculous, though. She has said, reluctantly and mostly in spite, that I can drop some classes, but being raised by my mother, I can never feel good about myself unless I do my best in school, now. There is this constant nagging voice in my head that says I have to keep taking the hardest schedule as I can and that I must get into a good college. I really want to make room in my schedule for things I love to do, like basketball, singing, art, ANYTHING BUT SCHOOL! I can't do any of these things, though, with my current schedule.

I am taking all APs and honors classes and I can't take it anymore. I don't have time for anything except homework! I even don't think I can go with my family to Taiwan for winter break because I will probably get tons of homework during the break. I am literally staying up until 1 or 2 every night, worst so far is 5:30, and falling asleep in my classes. Part of the reason my homework takes so long, I will admit, is because I sort of procrastinate and get so distracted. I can't do anything about it though, it's just all too overwhelming. Things have gotten so bad that I am getting to hate life in general, at least for junior year. I know junior year is SUPPOSED to suck, but I didn't think it would be this bad, and next year I will be applying for colleges so that won't be much better.

Now it may seem like I'm just bitching but I just can't handle it anymore. My mom keeps saying, "just take it easy", but I don't think she really means it and she doesn't take any actions. I would feel horrible about myself if I just dropped down to level 3s (the second easiest classes), and I feel horrible about myself now. WHAT DO I DO?!?!?

It feels like my mom doesn't understand how miserable I feel, so everyday I make it seem like I look as miserable as I can. This way, she may take the initiative to take me out of these classes, because I can't do it. I can't relieve myself of the burden of not being able to chase after whatever my dreams may be, or find my passion in life.

p.s. I just watched The Curious Case of Benjamin Button so maybe I'm just emotional lol. I think I'm probably crazy haha...
I know people have it worse off than me, but please try to look at this situation in my context. If I'm just being bitchy then please tell me so and maybe I should just toughen up and warrior out the rest of the year.


My friend, 20, has not been making any effort to get a job and he doesn't have money for anything. He's had jobs in the past before and hasn't had trouble getting them but it's been roughly half a year since he's had a job. He had his license taken away so he doesn't drive either, isn't in school, and he's becoming some what of a free loader and it's starting to annoy all our friends.

He's a good guy who's really talented and he knows he needs a job, but he doesn't seem to have any initiative and it's starting to be a problem. He stayed the night at our friends house for 4 days in a row eating their food and using their shower. He's also in a band with me and another friend and he's sort of holding us back financially as well.

Can anyone tell me why my friend isn't trying to get a job? Is he just lazy?

And should I help him get a job or not? I feel that if we try to help him he won't learn to help himself in the long run.

Thanks


I thought he was a good man and a Christian, but he has become a control freak. He manipulates me like I cant even state my opinion if it is opposite but everything he says is right, for example I told him I didn't want to get baptized because I was always biased towards it and I listened to people but I was wrong and the more I seek God I believe he will prepare me to be more spiritual he says, "Ok you need to get baptized next time, say it."... and then he calls me early in the morning and says, "Oh why are you laying down, you need to go out and feed the poor with me because God calls us to serve. " Mind you its not like I never feed the poor, I have done plenty of times including 2 weeks ago and I always serve people not just the poor.
I didn't fell well at the time and told him I will have a nervous breakdown if I go out after 3 hours of sleep and feeling sick physically and he says, "God is telling me this will makeyou feel better, your missing this opportunity."

The other night I was feeling like I wanted to throw up about us getting married because he is depending on loans and really my loan* to get us an apartment and he doesnt realize the value of working, and when I ask him if he will please get a job and then we can consider marriage since he will have a better time paying off that debt, and he says, " I will provide for you...I will."

But isn't words without action dead?

I must admit I fell into the trap of the what if game. He asked me 2 days ago what if I would marry him in January and well I wasnt thinking and said oh sure because he was loving on me and making me feel special, but after weighing out the costs I apologized to him and realized God will want you to both be ready for something and that requires using your brain to be prepared......

And When I told him, "I am just not ready." He says, " YOUR GOING TO HAVE ANXIETY AND FEAR WHEN GOD IS CALLING YOU TO SOMETHING AND GOD IS CALLING US TO MARRIAGE AND IM SICK OF THIS I DONT WANT THE RATIONALE YOU, I WANT THE YOU WHO IS GOING TO JUST DO IT AND TRUST IN HIM TO DO IT AND YOUR MISSING AN OPPORTUNITY."

Now I tell him in an email what I need, and I need to grow spiritually and I need him to be able to encourage me but not act like God, and want to take the initiative to get out of debt, and he says he did encourage me by telling me God told me to get out of bed and go serve, and he says he loves me and wants me to see the woman GOD wants me to be.
I mean he quotes scripture but it feels like he does it out of..idk..
Am I wrong to feel this is not right, I feel scared because he is starting to creep me out.

and I love him but I feel that he can say he loves me but look at the actions.


Im applying for a job at tesco and need help with 16 questions so i get the interview .. .. if someone working there has filled it already and got the interview please help.. here are the 16 questions im applying forA�

Instructions
a�? The questionnaire has blocks of four statements labelled A, B, C and D.
a�? Please choose just ONE statement within each block that is most true of you
and just ONE statement which is least true of you.


1. I am the sort of person who...
A) gives support to other people............
B) negotiates with others.......................
C) is able to problem solve......................
D) speaks clearly.................................a��

4. I am the sort of person who...
A) works hard to meet others needs......
B) maintains very high standards of
work..................................a��
C) keeps my commitments to others......
D) learns new things quickly..................

5. I am the sort of person who...
A) changes peoplea��s views.....................
B) treats others in a fair and consistent
way...................................a��
C) works with others to achieve group
objectives............................a��
D) checks all details...............................

6. I am the sort of person who...
A) is aware of the aims of the company
B) makes the right decisions..................
C) respects policies and procedures......
D) willingly accepts difficult targets.......

2. I am the sort of person who...
A) talks openly and honestly with other
people................................a��
B) asks relevant questions........................
C) talks clearly to others............................
D) is interested in the company being
successful............................a��

3. I am the sort of person who...
A) is a good team builder........................
B) is able to encourage others................
C) gets good results................................
D) can be relied upon by others.............

7. I am the sort of person who...
A) adapts well to change........................
B) masters new work methods quickly..
C) gives praise to others.........................
D) adds to group decisions.....................

12. I am the sort of person who...
A) produces very high qualitywork........
B) trusts other people.............................
C) shows commitment to groups and
organisations.........................a��
D) is effective in planning and
organising............................a��

8. I am the sort of person who...
A) tries to understand the needs of
others................................a��
B) sets high standards............................
C) drives others towards goals...............
D) notices incorrect information............

13. I am the sort of person who...
A) is ready to take on tasks.....................
B) easily picks up new approaches to
work..................................a��
C) organises my own time effectively....
D) easily establishes relationships with
others................................a��

9. I am the sort of person who...
A) speaks to others in an open and
honest way.....................................a��
B) is able to learn things.......................
C) creates a plan for tasks......................
D) respects the confidentiality of
things people tell me.........................

14. I am the sort of person who...
A) shares knowledge with others...........
B) is effective in leading others.............
C) understands how my own work has
an effect on profits.............................
D) absorbs relevant facts quickly...........

10. I am the sort of person who...
A) identifies the cause of problems.......
B) is able to convince others..................
C) is not afraid to take risks...................
D) absorbs knowledge readily................

15. I am the sort of person who...
A) is prepared to take the initiative.......
B) keeps the attention of others when
speaking..............................a��
C) tries to achieve cost efficiency in
everything I do...................................
D) gets work right first time...................

11. I am the sort of person who...
A) aims to please other people...............
B) plans my own time.............................
C) is able to solve problems...................
D) motivates others to reach team
goals.................................a��

16. I am the sort of person who...
A) completes tasks on time....................
B) accepts targets formyself..................
C) thinks about the needs of others.....
D) shows enthusiasm.............................


hope you can help please do help me, thanks I really need a job money is fam is shortA�


I am a currently enrolled in Troy University. I am 19 years of age (going on 20 next month), and I have a pretty shallow resume. I was fired from a job earlier this year for attendance problems. I was constantly not going to work because I felt like I was not making any difference in the work place and felt I was on the path to failure with that job. I did not take the proper initiative and quit like I should have done. Instead, I was immature and allowed myself to get fired. This economy is causing employers to become less lenient when hiring. Because of this, I am afraid to tell them that I was fired from a job. If I do this, will they most likely find out? Also, if yes, will it hurt my chances of getting a job if I tell the truth?


I recently, on my own initiative, brought new technology to my workplace (with approval), designed, implimented and succeffuly have maintained this new technology for over a year. I did not work with a team, I did this completely by myself- its been bringing moneyand the potential for more money, into the company. Now suddenly the marketting dept who had no input on this, seems to want to get involved and do to my existing job title, I forsee them being able to take over my project using their policy and procedures guidelines as it techinically falls under them- despite my doing 100% of it. How do I verbally approach the subject of having a new position created where this new techology is UNDER that new job descriptions policy and procedures, considering I am the one who knows the most about it. I dont want some...team that isnt even directly connected to me having any input at all coming in and taking the glory for my efforts and suddenly Im in the background or forgotten.
Jim: I'd appreciate mature responses from people. I shouldnt have to point out that positions and legalities revolving around them, cannot become manifest without evidence supporting them. I had to SHOW the technology was actually beneficial- and it is. Why would any company create a position for new tech without even testing it for a period? The moment you bring the subject up at all youve let the cat out of the bag about the concept for someone ELSE to run with. So the entire thing had to be shown as viable, LOGICALLY, before I could even think about approaching the subject of having a position created surrounding the tech. So instead of laughing and pointing fingers like a school yard child how about offering genuine answers.


He said I need to take more initiative also because he says if he didn't call or text me then he'd never hear from me. Which is true... I just didn't want to come off as a bug-a-boo I guess and went too much in the other direction. But now we've had sex and I want to text him so bad. I'd be lying if I said that I didn't want it again... Should I send him a text? Call? What should I say?????


Plus, I'm in my sophomore year of college and he's already graduated and has his own job and I think our age difference kind of irks him even though he's only 3 years older.


I know it's the wrong catagory and it's already in marriage and divorce - since I spend the majority of my time here I wanted to get some opinions from mothers, especially working mothers.

We moved to Germany a little over a year ago. I have always done the majority of housework and child care for the length of our relationship since we always worked the same number of hours and for a good chunk of time he worked swing shift 4 days a week - he left before I even got home. He was unemployed for a year after we got to Germany and still contributed little in the way of childcare and housework. I'd come home and the house would be a mess and the baby would still be in a diaper - he never takes her outside or dresses her unless he has errands to run. He would only do housework if I left him a specific list of things to do. Sometimes he would take the initiative to do simple things like running the dishwasher or cleaning his soda cans off the computer desk.
Now he's got a job working about 32 hours a week - swingshift so he's home all day with our daughter. Now he does NOTHING. I've talked to him about it and he says that he just doesn't think about it. I've talked to him numerous times and asked him to start cleaning up a little before I get home. I've asked him to take the baby to the park to play. He also doesn't want to potty train her - she's almost 3 and still in diapers. I don't know what to do anymore - talking isn't working. I've asked him if he's depressed and he insists that he's not. I'm really tempted to just tell him to move back to the US. Pretty much our relationship has gone from husband and wife to me having a live in babysitter - and one that I would fire at that.
Anyone have any advice or have a similar experience? If so what worked for you?


We moved to Germany a little over a year ago. I have always done the majority of housework and child care for the length of our relationship since we always worked the same number of hours and for a good chunk of time he worked swing shift 4 days a week - he left before I even got home. He was unemployed for a year after we got to Germany and still contributed little in the way of childcare and housework. I'd come home and the house would be a mess and the baby would still be in a diaper - he never takes her outside or dresses her unless he has errands to run. He would only do housework if I left him a specific list of things to do. Sometimes he would take the initiative to do simple things like running the dishwasher or cleaning his soda cans off the computer desk.
Now he's got a job working about 32 hours a week - swingshift so he's home all day with our daughter. Now he does NOTHING. I've talked to him about it and he says that he just doesn't think about it. I've talked to him numerous times and asked him to start cleaning up a little before I get home. I've asked him to take the baby to the park to play. He also doesn't want to potty train her - she's almost 3 and still in diapers. I don't know what to do anymore - talking isn't working. I've asked him if he's depressed and he insists that he's not. I'm really tempted to just tell him to move back to the US. Pretty much our relationship has gone from husband and wife to me having a live in babysitter - and one that I would fire at that.
Anyone have any advice or have a similar experience? If so what worked for you?


These are cover letters that I have sent to companies when I apply for social work and clerical related jobs. For confidentiality, I have taken some things out.

Dear Recruiter:

I am immensely interested in the receptionist position you are offering. I received information about this position at Careerbuilder.com. The attached resume will explain in full my qualifications for this position.

As a tutor, office assistant, and receptionist, I have been able to gain much experience regarding procedures and needs of different types of people, as I found it necessary to network with the Special Needs office at _______ College, and have spent periods between semesters doing Data Entry and clerical duties in the Deans Office. I have assisted my supervisor with activities and projects, and I have been able to complete many assignments independently and well before deadlines. I have also been able to assist with inventory, take minutes for meetings, and support my co-workers with their needs. In addition, I have much experience when it comes to filing, organizing, and writing correspondence. Thus, I am resourceful and client-and-employee-oriented and have the ability to serve and help those of all backgrounds. These values can be applied to any environment. Are looking for someone who is dependable, motivated, energetic, and professional? My aforementioned skills and experiences are proof that I am the person you are looking for. Should I be hired, you will not be disappointed.

I welcome the opportunity to interview with you to further discuss my qualifications and experience. I hope to hear from you soon, as I will certainly be able to prove my value to your company if I am considered for the position.

Cordially,

______________

Dear Recruiter:

I have much interest in the Case Manager position available at __________. I learned of this opening from your website, but I used to volunteer at _____________, a hospital within your network, between 1997 and 1998.
As you will see in my resume, I have earned my Mastera��s of Social Work degree at the University of Illinois at Chicago. I already have about three years' experience at ________--first as an intern, and then as a community support specialist. I specifically work at a residential program for young adults with severe mental illness who are learning to live independently. Within this program, I have not only learned case-management skills and enhanced counseling skills, but I have also learned to understand and work with clients with various extremes in personalities and needs. This position has proved to be quite challenging when our clients experience severe symptoms and emergencies, but it has also been rewarding when those same members make improvements due in part to my support. Thus, I have proven to be a person capable of taking initiative, and I am able to get along with many types of individuals. I should have little trouble implementing these skills if I am hired.

I welcome the opportunity to interview with you to further discuss my qualifications and experience. You can reach me by any of the contact options listed on my resume. I hope to hear from you soon, as I am confident that I have much to contribute to your hospital.

Cordially,

________________


Clubs:
-National Honor Society (11,12)
-Parliamentarian (11)
-Interact (10,11,12)
-Executive Committeeman (11,12)
-Quiz Bowl (9,10,11,12)
-Teenage Republicans (11,12)
-Founder and de facto Chairman (11)
-District Chairman (12)
-Future Business Leaders of America (10, 11)
-President (11)
-Distributive Education Clubs of America (9,11)
-Environmental Club (12)
-Debate Club (10)
-Political Club (12)
-Senior Advisors (12)
-Freshman Year Experience (12)
-School Paper (10,11)
-News Editor (10)
-Opinions Editor (11)
-Student Council (10,11,12)
-Class President (11)
-Student Body President (12)
-Superintendenta��s Advisory Council (11,12)
-Local Board of Education
-Student Representative (11,12)
-Intern for McCain for President

Academics:
-2nd in my class
-SAT Score:2070 (am retaking it and am confident of breaking 2200)
-Scored a five on my AP English Language exam and a five on my AP U.S. Government and Politics Exam
-Scored a 700 on my SAT Subject Test in U.S. History

Awards:
-Senior Hall of Fame
-Most Likely to Cure Cancer
-Schoola��s Elected Nominee for the DAR Good Citizen Award
-Won a local scholarship to attend the Future World Leadersa�� Summit in Washington, DC
-Was selected as one only two students in my state (104 throughout the nation) to serve as a delegate to the 2009 United States Senate Youth Program
-Selected to serve for a week as a page in the North Carolina House of Representatives
-Transylvania County Scholar
-Junior Marshall
-Nominee for the Morehead Scholarship
-1st place in the state for the Public Speaking I category of the Future Business Leaders of America State Leadership Conference
-Qualified twice to go to state for Distributive Education Clubs of America

Sports:
-Tennis (9, 10, 11)
-All-Conference Player (10)

Jobs:
-Phone Bank Operator for Charles Taylor for Congress (September a�� November 2006)
-Called-up local citizens to inform them about early voting and other election procedures
-Rockya��s Soda Shop General Employee (July a�� August 2009)
-Prepared ice-cream desserts
-Took orders
-Ran orders
-Swept
-Washed dishes
-Restocked food

AP Courses:
-AP English Language
-AP English Literature
-AP Government and Politics
-AP U.S. History
-AP Macroeconomics
-AP Microeconomics
-AP Biology
-AP European History

Leadership Conferences:
-Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (Summer of 2007)
-United States Senate Youth Program (11)
-Presidential Classroom (11)
-Student Council Leadership Conference at Clemson (10)
-Future Business Leaders of America State Leadership Conference (10)
-Local Student Council Leadership Conference (11)

Volunteering:
-Rang bells for the Salvation Army
-Tutored students at Brevard Elementary School
-Tutored a student at Brevard High School
-Volunteered at Brevard Elementary Schoola��s Fall Fun Day
-Participated in Rent-A-Student (adults rented students and the proceeds went to providing heat for needy families during the winter months)
-Volunteer at the Brian Center (local nursing home)
-Helped organize the Senior Citizens Prom (brought senior citizens from across the county together for a night of fun, food, and dancing)
-Volunteer at SAFEa��s Attic

Initiative:
-Stood-up to the School Board when many students and parents grew concerned over the dismissal of several good teachers from the high school
-Founded my local branch of the Teenage Republicans

In The Works:
-Founded a local Youth Court
-Founded a local STAND (anti-genocide) club
-Organized the Night of 1000 dinners to raise money for the victims of land mines
-Founded the Inter-Club Council to help facilitate greater communication between the various clubs in our school
My weighted GPA was 4.56 last time I checked. Also, what should I focus on in the coming months to enhance any areas of weakness in my credentials?


I'm a highschool student. Before you respond, read my argument. Ok? Otherwise you'd be missing the point.

Ok, I know education is important. It's just that we won't ever really ever apply a lot of it in the real world. When will journalists need to know how to perform calculus? When will accountants need to know what caused the Falkland Wars? When will scientists needed to know what "gregarious" means?

What's the point? Why not just remove high school and middle school and just have college? In college, they'd take out the useless information and teach everything you need to know for your job.

Look, the first half of my argument is that you dona��t learn what you need to know.

The second half is more obvious. What schools teach us are purely rote, and they fail in terms of educating the students in terms of concepts or critical thinking.

By concepts I mean, teachers FORCE students to write FIVE paragraph essays and teach a specific format rather than teach the CONCEPT of good writing. In mathematics, teachers FORCE us to memorize formulas and etc. rather than teach us the concepts of the subject matter. In chemistry they FORCE us to memorize the elements in the periodic table and FORCE us to memorize reactions and etc.

Isna��t it obvious? Insofar as the majority of the information is purely rote, concepts and critical thinking are impeded. There's very little to no critical thinking being developed here through memorization.

Then, lets move on to the incompetence of the education system in the United States.

According to the Kevin Boatwright of the National Math and Science Initiative, about 30 percent of high school math teachers didna��t major in math in college. Likewise, approximately 60 percent of teachers in the physical sciences didna��t major in these areas and are considered to be teaching out-of-field.

So basically, those science and math teachers in high school aren't even specialized to teach those subjects. I can't imagine how they can be possibly competent.

Then, when you evaluate the governmental corruption in the education system, you begin to truly laugh. Just do some basic research on any state, and you'll see bus drivers with salaries of $70,000+, secretaries of $100,000+, wasted spending, not enough funding in where money is needed, inflated pensions, and a bunch of useless garbage. Especially in New Jersey if I may add, (So don't vote Corzine)

So, school should be removed. It doesn't teach sufficiently or teach us what we need to know, it harbors incompetence, and it harbors corruption. Why don't we remove it?


My boyfriend just recently got a really good paying job, so i let his laziness slide, so i can be a good girlfriend and pay him back by doing housework... but he acted the same way before he had a good job and throughout all of our fights, has never changed... I cook, clean, organize, everything... if i ask him to take out the trash, he waits a week then i just give up and take it out for him.. i just wish he had some initiative, like in my family where if something needs to be done, we do it and we dont do it only halfway.. he will leave his dirty dishes everywhere, his video games all over the floor, and he takes off his socks and leaves them all over the house.. ext. I know ill be with him for a long time, and he is a good provider, but i dont know if i am justified in asking him to do small things around the house or if its going to ever get any better... Its not like im old and have nothing better to do.. im only 18 and weve lived together for 2 years now.. and i go to school. but what should i say or do???? oh and for the record... video games suck!!


please any advice will do!!!!! i really want this job!




Dear Mr. ______,

On December 15, 2009, I will be completing the third level of the Business Accounting Program at _________ College. I am currently looking to develop the skills learned throughout my time in _______, and gain valuable experience in the work force. My sister _______ _________, referred me to you, and has talked nothing but positive things about you and your company. I am looking for a Co-op position for January 2010, and would love to have the opportunity to gain experience within your company. Please find enclosed a copy of my resume as application for a co-op position.

Throughout my time at __________ College, my academic training has given me a strong base in the accounting field. I have a strong understanding of Accounting, and would like to use my knowledge to assist your company throughout the busy season in January. I am a hard worker and motivated to learn more. As a supervisor at _______ _______ I have learned to work under pressure. I also have initiative and persistence in completing assignments. I take my studies seriously and likewise, I will do the same within your company.

I look forward to further discussing my qualifications with you in greater detail. Please contact me anytime at 000-000-0000. Thank you for your time and considerations.

Sincerely,



____________


so what are you waiting for? It's like a fat kid complaining about being called fat when he's got CAKE in his hands!!! Take some initiative and get yourself a job, feel proud of yourself. Maybe we could respect you then.


Hi everyone,
I'm looking for an internship- not just any internship but sth related to what i want to go into (finance/marketing)
ive attended career day at my business school but no one would even take my resume because im a first year
when i asked my counselor for help she said i should take initiative and do sth that regular students wouldnt do
ive looked at craig's list, but how do i know if their job postings are legit?
what are some internships available for first year business student out there?

ps. would having a part time job as a bank teller help me later on in my 3rd/4th year when i will be applying for actual important internships?


I ve been diagnosed with social phobia, i am depressed and i just cant see any bright side of anything,I have a reasonable job but i just hate myself going to work everyday. I feel inferior to all the people i meet. I tend to be intimidated by my managers coz i always feel judged by them. i want to be an initiator not a reactor. i want to take the lead i have ambitions and dreams but i feel limited and held down by my fears. I even feel embarrassed when i speak up or take initiative anytime anyone went through that and was successful in overcoming it?


I am considering breaking up with my bf because I was am tired that the relationship is not going anywhere. He is my age, mid 20's, has no car, no license, no secure and stable job (works construction), no house or apartment (rents small room), no high school or college degrees, doesna��t speak English, no dreams-goals-ambitions-motivations, etc. He seems to live day by day and his only responsibility and worry is being deported.

Me, I have a full-time secure and stable job, go to college with ambitions to get a BA, have a house, a car, ambitions-goals-dreams-plans, etc.

I am frustrated of carrying with the mana��s role in this relationship. Ia��m the shot caller most of the time because he has no initiative. Ia��m fed up with driving everywhere and not being able to rely on him if I want to drink or Ia��m tired, because he has no license. I can think of infinite things that I am tired of.

It makes me sad that we are so much in love and our relationship is not working out. I used to think financial stability and education did not matter but now I think it does. Well, maybe not so much that he has to have a degree and is wealthy, but yes that he has ambitions and plans to achieve more or learn English. He seems to settle where hea��s at. Ita��s been a yr and a half and hea��s still where I met him.

I want to end this relationship. Ia��m not happy and am always frustrated when we go out because his presence is starting to annoy me. I think ita��s due to all the stress I have because of carrying the mana��s role. I think thata��s why hea��s inevitably starting to get on my nerves.

How can I get over this and move on? Ia��m finding it very hard to end this once and for all. Wea��ve broken up many times before and always get back together but this time I want it over for good. I want someone who can offer me what I have to offer. I think I deserve more. What are your thoughts, opinions, and suggestions? Please help me. I am very scared to take the 1st step.
If I knew now how hard it is to be with someone like him, I would not even consider dating them. When we met, what I wanted in a man was not so clear to me. Also I hadn't achieved so much. Since I met him I bought a house and am more into school and my job. I've matured more and am more goal-oriented. This is why it's barely hitting me hard that him and I don't match anymore.


So I need help. My boss and I seem to have a communication barrier between us, we just don't see eye to eye on things. When I first started, I would come to him and double check everything with him. Then he told me to start taking initiative, but when I take initiative he gets angry because that's not what he told me to do and I get yelled at. He doesn't listen, when I ask questions he talks over me. This happens alot: He'll tell me the incorrect thing to do, then forgets what he said and when it becomes a problem he claims that it's my fault and that he couldn't have possibly told me to do that. He told me to go home and "think about it". I'd like to salvage this job if possible, does anyone have any ideas? I'm going crazy over here. I have tried a one-on-one discussion. Today actually, when he asked me "did I tell you to do such and such" I said yes, and I showed him the note I wrote. He seemed to be personally offended and accused me of turning everything around on him and claiming it was his fault. However, I have no way to prove it, so I just have to take the brunt of it. The problem is that there is no paper trail and I would log it but he won't look at it. He dictates to me on the spot, I write it, and if I try to ask questions I'm either talked down to or he talks around the question and never completely answers it. So this causes me to have to ask multiple times which not only makes me look like an idiot but it makes him even more angry. I've tried to suggest that we correspond in writing so it's more clear but he doesn't listen to me so... There is no one higher in the chain of command so that's not an option. It's a small business and I'm 1 of only 2 employees. Sigh...


So I need help. My boss and I seem to have a communication barrier between us, we just don't see eye to eye on things. When I first started, I would come to him and double check everything with him. Then he told me to start taking initiative, but when I take initiative he gets angry because that's not what he told me to do and I get yelled at. He doesn't listen, when I ask questions he talks over me. This happens alot: He'll tell me the incorrect thing to do, then forgets what he said and when it becomes a problem he claims that it's my fault and that he couldn't have possibly told me to do that. He told me to go home and "think about it". I'd like to salvage this job if possible, does anyone have any ideas? I'm going crazy over here.
I have tried a one-on-one discussion. Today actually, when he asked me "did I tell you to do such and such" I said yes, and I showed him the note I wrote. He seemed to be personally offended and accused me of turning everything around on him and claiming it was his fault. However, I have no way to prove it, so I just have to take the brunt of it. The problem is that there is no paper trail and I would log it but he won't look at it. He dictates to me on the spot, I write it, and if I try to ask questions I'm either talked down to or he talks around the question and never completely answers it. So this causes me to have to ask multiple times which not only makes me look like an idiot but it makes him even more angry. I've tried to suggest that we correspond in writing so it's more clear but he doesn't listen to me so... There is no one higher in the chain of command. It's an attorney and I'm 1 of only 2 employees. Sigh...


its been more than a year, i have a kid with this man, im not happy, i want him out, he knows i want him out but he wont leave because " his son is there" im tired of cleaning up after him yea he cleans sometimes but when he sees that im furious. He dont work, yea he helps me if i ask but doesnt take the initiative to help around the house let alone hes not working thats the least he can do. he does take care of my other two kids after school but like i said thats the least he can do. Now he knows i want him out the house but he wont leave, its gonna take me to call the cops and i dont want to be the reason for him to go to jail because he is also on probation. so i know if i call the cops hell violate. I dont want to look like the bad one in his family but im fed up. Maybe im being selfish but i dont know what to do anymore and everytime the conversation comes up he somehow convinces me to work things out but im tired. and i see no progress. i work two jobs and no help but like i said he does watch my other 2 kids. what am i to do. also my basement reeks because he got his 2 dogs and dont like to clean up after them and it PISSES ME OFF. he cant even take the time to do laundry. i spent a whole bunch of money at the laundrymaut because it stacks up mind you i work all day and hes doing nothing.. PLEASE HELP ME. HOW CAN I KICK HIM OUT???
ive let him know exactly how i felt about all of this and he wants to do what ever it takes to change but im almost sure nothing is going to change.


thanks all for your comments. Let me add a few points to clarify. I am suspicious not because she is being evasive or lurking about. I am suspicious since we have not had any intimacy in a long time and she never wears g strings or thongs for me, even though I have urged her to, and bought her nice items. And she is not the type to wear them for herself--she has often said they are uncomfortable (so why does she have new ones???) And I notice little signs--she now goes into the walk in closet or bathroom to change in pj's for the night. The other day, as I was getting out of the shower, she was stripping down to get in. I noticed she is much more trimmed then normal--again, I have asked her often to get a brazilian or landing strip or something like that and she never has. Now she is more trimmed and neat. I sometimes call her cell during the day and she does not answer and calls me back 1-2 hours later. If she calls my cell and I dont answer, she calls again and again or IM's me (if she is at home).
I don't want a divorce (we have 2 pre-teen kids) and other reasons. She does not have a vibrator that I know of even though I suggested we/she get one to spice things up. I love to give oral and she has, many many times in the past pushed me away though we would have regular sex. I started thinking that prior to us, she had sex with someone else and she felt guilty about me putting my face there, who knows? She does look when I get out of the shower semi erect, but does not take any initiative or make any comments. So, and maybe this is all circumstantial, why does she have new g strings and thongs when she admitted she thinks they are uncomfortable (and any tips on how she can get used to them would be appreciated), she has some absences or unaccounted for time, she has no interest in me (and, not bragging, but lady friends have commented that I am attractive (not overweight, good job, well respected, etc)). I am at a loss to figure this out. Part of me does not think she would do something (she hates to give oral and is not good at it)), but part of me thinks she is saying WTF, I'm pissed at him and I am attracted to this guy and I'm going to see him on the side. Whew!!!! that's a lot of commentary.


I'm a girl just so everyone knows. Age 17.
I've recently gained some weight. Since about 1 month ago, I have been trying very hard to lose it. I just got a new job which requires me to pick up super heavy plates, clean windows, and walk around back and forth for hours straight. After work I usually walk home... and that's a 30min walk, with half of it being up-hill. I have also taken the initiative to eat less more times a day. 3 meals, and 3 snacks. I eat the healthiest food. I don't even think anyone in the world eats healthier than I do. Cakes, fried sh*t, oily foods, red meat, processed foods... blah blah blah
What I do not understand is: after doing all this for myself, I have ended up gaining 3 pounds on my scale! Wtf man! People have told me that muscle weighs more than fat. I know, of course it does, it has higher density. But I don't think that I have gained 3 pounds of muscle in the past 3 weeks... impossible. Please help me out. Also, I don't know if this has anything to do with this... probably does. But I have been having serious digestive problems. I cannot really digest my food, and I am so bloated I think my stomach will explode any second now.


I'm a girl just so everyone knows. Age 17.
I've recently gained some weight. Since about 1 month ago, I have been trying very hard to lose it. I just got a new job which requires me to pick up super heavy plates, clean windows, and walk around back and forth for hours straight. After work I usually walk home... and that's a 30min walk, with half of it being up-hill. I have also taken the initiative to eat less more times a day. 3 meals, and 3 snacks. I eat the healthiest food. I don't even think anyone in the world eats healthier than I do. Cakes, fried sh*t, oily foods, red meat, processed foods... blah blah blah
What I do not understand is: after doing all this for myself, I have ended up gaining 3 pounds on my scale! Wtf man! People have told me that muscle weighs more than fat. I know, of course it does, it has higher density. But I don't think that I have gained 3 pounds of muscle in the past 3 weeks... impossible. Please help me out.


Hi

I have got the following information, i need help with my English and the structure of the CV, I want to apply for a job at Maplin which is an electronic store.



I am a software engineering student, i have worked for one year at iceland foods, I studied software development at college, before going to university to study software engineering, which is what i am currently doing.


You can add anything else that you might feel will help me make my cv attractive to the employer.

I finished school 4 years ago, and when i did my work experience i was descriped as " name is a quiet but attentive person, respectful and willing to help, i have recieved positive feedback from the team regarding name"

so maybe you could add that somewhere.

so far i have written this, but it needs a change, if you could help me with the English, and just make it look attractive to the employer.


A hard working, reliable and enthusiastic person who thrives on sociability and fellowship. Outgoing with strong and effective organizational skills, good team player, takes direction well and able to use own initiative, Possesses good computer Skills .

I mean i have done web design, programming, but i dont think they are interested in that, which is why i have just mentioned good computer skills.


Skills
Languages a�� English, Farsi

Good working knowledge of Internet and MS Office packages


work experience
Iceland Foods -
Job Title: Store Assistant
Duties included serving customers and dealing with customer queries, stacking shelfa��s and taking stock checks and general maintenance and cleanliness of the shop floor.

Education


Thank You Very Much
1 hour ago - 1 week left to answer.


I am 19 years old and me and my ex started dating two years ago. We started off slow and things were really good. About a year into out relationship she got pregnant. We had to make a big decision and decided to put our baby up for adoption. Then our relationship got very serious. We started talking about the future and spending the rest of our lives together. Throughout our relationship she was always bugging me about getting a job and I just didn'tt think it was a big deal. She recently broke up with me and says she needs some time alone. Because of our baby, our relationship got much too serious for our young age. My plan is to get a job (which i did yesterday) and get my car running again. She was always the one driving. My plan is to show her that I am puting the initiative into things to show her that i can provide for her and that I really love her. Im going to give her space and wait until she is ready to talk again and we can start off as friends and see where things take us. Is this a good idea? What should i dodifferentlyy??


Andrew Nagorski - Reagan's Missile Defense Triumph

(By Sajjad Safari -- Associated Press)
Iran's Revolutionary Guard Corps tests dozens of missiles during maneuvers in 2006.


By Andrew Nagorski
Friday, September 25, 2009

If Ronald Reagan was watching the news from afar last week, he had to be smiling. Not because of President Obama's decision to abandon the planned deployment of a missile defense system in Poland and the Czech Republic. Reagan certainly wouldn't like the political symbolism of that gesture -- walking away from an agreement with two allies in Central Europe and appearing to bend to pressure from the Kremlin. As a partisan fighter, he would be in line with the Republican chorus of disapproval.

But on a more fundamental level, Reagan would recognize that the announcement represents a watershed moment in American politics. It signals that, for the first time since Reagan made his "Star Wars" speech in 1983 spelling out his vision of a missile shield that would protect the United States against nuclear attack, both political parties have accepted his notion that the country needs an effective missile defense system. The debate is no longer focused on whether to build such a system but on what kind of system will do the job better against what sorts of threats.

In the Reagan era, almost all Democrats and even some Republicans felt the president was dangerously delusional in believing such a system could work, and even more dangerous for promoting it. After all, the Cold War premise was MAD: Mutually assured destruction relied on the knowledge of each superpower's vulnerability to nuclear attack to prevent the rockets from flying. Any attempt to suggest that mutual destruction wouldn't be inevitable once nuclear weapons were used, the thinking went, increased the chances of a huge miscalculation with devastating consequences.

Many Democrats conveniently forgot that Jimmy Carter, during the final year of his administration, modified MAD by accepting Defense Secretary Harold Brown's concept of a "countervailing strategy." In essence, this meant trying to bomb select targets in the Soviet Union first, seeking to force that country's surrender before its total destruction or a retaliatory strike. When Reagan took the notion of a winnable war further by proclaiming his Strategic Defense Initiative, he wasn't about to get significant support from the other side of the aisle.

Fast-forward to the presidency of George W. Bush. Once again, many Democrats instinctively opposed his plan to deploy a missile defense system in Central Europe. While Republicans like to say the Democrats' motivation was softness toward the Kremlin, there were still liberal stalwarts who hated the idea of any missile defense system, believing that it would undermine disarmament efforts. That's why Obama's cautious, noncommittal pronouncements on missile defense during the 2008 campaign worried some of his most fervent supporters as well as his opponents.

But now the president has argued that his plan will produce "stronger, smarter, swifter" missile defense than the Bush alternative. In other words, the Obama administration's line, as spelled out by the president, Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, Defense Secretary Robert Gates and others, is unambiguous when it comes to embracing missile defense as a necessary component of the U.S. arsenal. By focusing on the more immediate threat of Iranian short- and medium-range missiles, it will also be concentrated on projecting American power to defend Europe and the Middle East in the first instance -- while effectively putting off the question of how best to defend the homeland against intercontinental ballistic missiles (from Iran or any other country) further down the line.

All of this has generated headlines that Obama has turned the Reagan concept of missile defense on its head, since he has reversed the order of priorities. There's some truth in those statements, but they all relate to tactics, not principle. The larger point is that, in political terms, Obama has done for missile defense what Bill Clinton did for welfare reform. Once Clinton embraced welfare reform, an initiative launched by Republicans and instinctively hated by many Democrats, the debate turned to the questions of what kind of reform and on what terms, rather than treating the old welfare system as untouchable.

So, too, with missile defense and the overall national security strategy. Republicans argue that Obama has allowed too many cuts in missile defense programs, even before last week's decision, to argue credibly that he will strengthen our deterrent capability. But now his administration's priority is to prove those critics wrong by building a system that will be effective not just against short- and medium-range missiles but, when needed in the future, also against intercontinental ballistic missiles.

You can bet that Obama does not want to run in 2012 on a pla


Just general tips of making a good cv that will catch an employees attention and gain an interview. I have included bits of my cv please feel free to criticize it and say were i could improve. Much appreciated.


A self motivated individual with a good understanding of the business world. I am a keen worker who is able to work on my own initiative who works well with other team members. Proven leadership skills in Young Enterprise and an individual dedicated to high quality standards in all his work.

Education and Qualifications

Staffordshire University

Rainbow Playworld
March 2009 - Present

At Rainbow Playworld I am usually allocated to the kitchen area where I serve customers and take food orders to customers. I enjoy working at Rainbow Playworld as this is a company was recently opened a few years ago and we as a team can feel the friendship and enthusiasm throughout.

Buzzard Valley Vineyard
October 2007 a�� March 2009

In the Buzzard Valley Vineyard I work as a waiter and bar staff, I am often left in sole charge of serving food and providing drinks at the bar. This has allowed me to use my own initiative and I have learned how to manage high demand periods.

Game
August 2006 a�� March 2009

My mainly responsible at Game are to cash up, answer telephone calls, answer any customer queries and deal with customer in a satisfying manner.

All of my work experiences have involved me working in a team as well as on my own. This involved me being organized, determined to succeed and commitment e.g. ensure sales targets are met.

Hobbies and interests

Leadership a�� when studying Young Enterprise I took the role of sales director where I was able to prove my planning skills which lead to my sales team into success.
Vehicles - I have interest on vehicles in particular cars and I enjoy maintaining my vehicle components to high standard.
Marketing a�� have an interest in how adverts, movies etc have been made i.e. why that particular location for the film why those cast members.

I also have an interest in reading, going to the cinema and traveling.

Please note i have removed all personal information i.e. address etc and selected which i believe are most important parts of the CV. Thanks again
2008 - Present
HND Business and Management


Okay so my bf of 3 years and I have been fighting a lot lately. It just seems like the last month he has been pulling away. He isn't keeping plans and is out drinking with his buddies all the time. I feel like he has been taking me for granted. We got in a fight about it and he says he knows all the things I'm saying but doesn't know why he isn't taking the initiative to make the relationship work (I don't know what that means either). He said he needs time to figure things out in his life and where he is growing. He says he still loves me and hopes I will still be there.

He seems to think I want him to change all of these things about himself. I told him I love him the way he is and I'm only asking for respect and that he's still committed to this relationship.

I don't know if this is about committment or if its really about him wanting to grow (I think he feels weird that I'm in university and he hasn't gone yet and is unhappy with his job). I told him that I don't care about any of these things but I know he can do anything that he puts his mind to.

I don't know why he can't figure these things out with me? Any advice on decoding what he really means and what I should do?
He thinks Im asking him to change and wnats to get himself in order and be at a point where we're ready to be together.

Does this mean its over, or just space?


I want to take the initiative to call Noodles & Co for a job interview, but i don't want to sound too demanding or forward. What should i say that will pretty much land me an interview?


With the Arab-Israeli dispute still going on, and many misguided people taking the side of the Palestinians, will the truth make any difference to them?

I fear not, and that the violence and antisemitic propaganda will continue.

There are three major lies about the Arab-Israel conflict. Throughout the years, they have gone through many metamorphoses and became first legends and, later, were transformed into commonly known "truths".

1. Israel was created due to European guilt because of Holocaust.

The modern Zionist movement emerged at the end of the 19th century with the goal of building Eretz-Israel, the Land of Israel, to create a Jewish state on the Jewish ancestral land. In July 1922 the League of Nations entrusted Great Britain with the Palestine Mandate, recognizing "the historical connection of the Jewish people with Palestine."

The Palestine Mandate was created exclusively for the benefit of the Jewish People, just as other mandates were intended for the creation of Syria, Iraq, Saudi Arabia and other Muslim countries.

2. Palestinians are a nation.

Since Jews were dispersed from Judea and Samaria by the Romans 2,000 years ago, there has never been any independent non-Jewish state or kingdom established in the Land of Israel. As the Jews came back and drained the swamps, made the deserts bloom and developed industries, Arabs, Muslims from Bosnia and Herzegovina, Circassians, Turkmen and Egyptians followed. They came for jobs, for prosperity, and were encouraged to migrate by the region's controlling powers, Ottoman and British, in order to prevent the creation of the Jewish state. For political reasons, they began identifying themselves as a Palestinian people only in 1964, on the initiative of Egyptian-born Yasser Arafat.

3. Israel is the occupier of Palestinian land.

The Palestinian Mandate (Article 5) clearly stipulated that "no Palestine territory [designated for the Jewish state - SS] shall be ceded or leased to, or in any way placed under the control of, the Government of, any foreign Power."

This means that the United Kingdom illegally ceded the Trans-Jordan to refugees from the Saudi Arabian Peninsula. And the United Nation's partition plan of the remaining parts of Palestine in 1947 was also illegal. In addition, in spite of the fact that the partition plan was devised to sabotage the creation of the Jewish homeland (the creation of two states on six ugly triangles - a completely unworkable political map), the Arabs rejected it. Therefore, they lost any legal standing on the land. They knew it - and that is one reason why seven Muslim states declared war on Israel in 1948.

But no one is interested in facts nowadays, or ever, especially where Jews are concerned. After 60 years of anti-Israel propaganda, facts are forgotten and distorted, legality is brushed aside and a new reality is forged. It is the same old ugliness with a new "politically correct" phoney face.
Dickens Cider - good point. But you said it as if I was against Israels right to live there in peace. Read my added information again.
Not many answers here. Perhaps I made the question a bit too hard for most lefties. Let me rephrase it.

Do you still hate Israel even though your reasons have all been proved to be false??
Yep. This was far too complicated a question for the left.

Either that or they couldn't stand the facts so did their usual 'la la la Im not listening' routine.


PERSONAL DETAILS:

NAME:
_______________

ADDRESS:


TELEPHONE:

EMAIL:aksdjf;klhag@hotmail.com

DATE OF BIRTH:2 January ____

HEALTH:Physically Fit

LICENCE:Learners Permit (Will be receiving Pa��s soon)



SUMMARY:
I previously worked at an Italian restaurant and a nightfiller at Woolworths. I have skills and experience in dealing with customers, storing and other store implications.

EDUCATION:


2008Diploma of Multimedia
Southbank Institute of Technology




2007Electrical Pre-apprenticeship
(Certificate I in Electrotechnology)
Chisholm Institute,____

Modules:

i��i��Electrical Concepts
i��i�?Wiring
i��i�?Mathematics
i��i�?Computing
i��i��OH&S


i��i��Arc Welding
i��i��CPR
i��i�?English
i��i�?Communication



2006Victorian Certificate of Education
Secondary School

Subjects:

i��i��i��Systems Technology
i��i��i��Mathematics
i��i��i�?Art
i��i��i�?English
i��i��i�?History



KEY SKILLS & EXPERIENCE:

Work Experience:
- As a store person at Frankston Chemist a�?My Chemista�? In Victoria/Melbourne (4months)
- Nightfill worker at Woolworths (7 Months)
- Waiter/bar person at Amicia��s restaurant. (6 months)

Trade Skills:

1Soldering
2Arc welding
3Circuit boards and component assembly
4Concepts of wiring and minor wiring repairs
5Good understanding of electronics
6Demonstrated good skills in using hand tools

Information Technology:

7MS Windows
8MS Office applications Access, Word, Excel and PowerPoint
9MS Publisher
10Internet and email
11Webpage creation
12Desktop publishing
13Installation of computer components and programs

Communication & Organisation:

14Can learn new skills and processes quickly
15Prepared to listen to advice and take instruction
16Enjoy working as part of a team
17Good verbal and written communication skills
18Physically able to carry out demanding work for long periods
19Self-motivated with the ability to use initiative
20Prepared to accept responsibility and work with the minimum of supervision
21Well-organised, punctual and reliable
22Experience in tills
23Customer service experience



HOBBIES & INTERESTS:

a�?Basketball
a�?Footballa�?Volleyballa�?Cooking
a�?Swimminga�?Video Gamesa�?Rugbya�?Soccer



REFEREES:


2 Referees
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


I'm not looking for a office type job but just a retail job or somewhat

Any help is great.
sorry i have 2 referees i just didn't want to give out the information.


Even Dem strategists have been saying for awhile that Obama has bet the ranch on his healthcare plans. And that he's taken an enormous risk given that what the country as a whole is concerned about most is jobs and the health of the economy.

Given the Dem anti-trade, protectionist initiatives he's supporting, there's no way this economy is going to be robust again until at least 2012. It's entirely likely that Dems will get hammered in the House next November and that, if this economy doesn't turn around in a big way and for enough people, Obama will be ushered into retirement at the ripe old age of 51.

I think the guy is shaping up as a potential disaster even greater than Carter was. I believed he was in totally over his head when he was elected (read: no relevant experience - whatsoever) and he appears no different today. Too bad for us.


Okay. Not sure what I should do with this one. I met this girl a couple years back at a high school dance. I wanted to go out with her and didn't take the initiative. About a year later, I introduced her to my best friend, who became interested. After the first time I introduced her to my best friend, my best friend asked if I would mind them going out, I stupidly said no, thinking that if i said yes, he would do it anyways and be pissed at me. Ever since, its bothered me. His girlfriend, who is also one of my best friends, would originally invite me along with them, but I started to avoid those situations and just hang out with both of them separately and avoid the fact that they are going out. Now they are both going to college. I just went to visit the college of my best friend's girlfriend, and I slept in her dorm room. My best friend didn't like the idea of this and never told me. But she told me. This made me feel like my best friend doesn't even trust me anymore. I feel rather betrayed. I have kept my mouth shut, done nothing wrong, and yet I'm still not trusted. It just made my feelings seem more right. My best friend is also away at college (14 hours from his girlfriends college) and they almost broke up a few days ago. I was over at her dorm room and they started fighting because she was going to let a guy she met visit her, and then it came out that my best friend had a problem with me staying at her dorm. I am beginning to care less and less about the friendship with my best friend. Yet, my morals and reason tell me it would be more right just to drop both relationships (or keep them both), but my emotions tell me to pursue a relationship with my best friend's girlfriend. Although, I don't even know if I would be able to make her happy, I have 4 jobs and I'm a full time student. I'm going to visit her again in 3 weeks. I would sooner if I could. I enjoy talking to her, and i would like to think of her as a very close friend. But, I have never been that confident in myself when it came to things like this. My best friend has always been much better. Either way, I'm looking for advice in this situation. I don't really think I could just forget about her or ignore my emotions anymore. Ever since I met her, I wanted to go out with her. I always felt very connected with her and always felt like she was and is an amazing, awesome, beautiful, kind, and loving person. Anyways, I know I'm being stupid for a lot of things here. So, I'm just looking for an answer, advice, support, or your own stories that might make me realize something or another. Thanks for your time, and sorry for the "best friend" and "best friend's girlfriend" references. I just don't think it would be good if either of them found out this way. Again, thanks for reading! -Somebody :)


Can anybody give me or tell me where to get a job at this year's Perth Royal Show?

I am 15 years old, am very enthusiastic, I take initiative and I have experience working customer service and a cash register from working at KFC for 4 months.

Please help me out I really need the cash and would be happy to work 12hr plus days for as little as $8 per hour. If you need a resume, send me your email address and I can send it to you.

Thanks Heaps.


Actually, this is my homework, but the text is really really difficult for me to understand (+ I am a zero in policy -_-), so, I would be very thankful if someone could help me at least a bit.

Here is the text:

What price a prince?
When underground trains pull into Green Park station, the electric Tannoy recently began announcing: "Alight here for Buckingham Palace". This is very considerate of them, but I don't think the Queen has started using the tube just yet. On Thursday, Buckingham Palace proudly boasted that the royal family had halved its expenditure over the past 10 years, although most of that was probably achieved when Fergie's credit card was cut in two.

The Queen's treasurer even went so far as to claim that the royal family now actually gives more money than it spends. Those poor royals must be getting really fed up with subsidising our luxury lifestyle. Prince Philip must keep seeing ordinary people in their three-bedroom semis and saying: "Why do they need that expensive Ford Minder in the car port? You know, in Sweden the subjects cycle everywhere." "Well, I know these ordinary families are expensive," says the Queen, "but they do do a lot for charity. And think of all that money they bring in tourism..."
Sir Michael Peat also listed dozens of cutbacks that the royal family had made over the past year, while insisting that the search for savings would continue. Sir Michael has the job description of the "keeper of the privy purse". Well that's one economy that could be made for a start - why does the Queen need a purse in the privy, let alone someone whose job it is to keep it? Maybe they still have those old-fashioned lavatories where you have to pay a penny to get into the cubicle, and because Her Majesty doesn't carry money, we're paying fifty grand a year for this bloke to stand outside the royal privy all day with a purse full of old one penny coins.
This week's press conference was part of a sustained PR effort to open the royal accounts and justify the huge amounts that are still spent every year. Closer scrutiny of the royal finances had been long overdue. For example, it was discovered that helicopters were being used for journeys of only a few miles - such as going to the bottom of the garden.

Use of the royal train was costing A?30,000 a trip, although it was only A?28,000 if they travelled after 9.30am. And less money is now given to the Ogilvys for Lady Marina, since it was discovered that she was in fact a car that they'd bought from British Leyland in the 1970s
"No," said the Queen, "we're going to have cut back on non-essentials." At which point Prince Edward packed his bag and left. The rest of them sat round the kitchen table and all agreed to try to find a way to make savings.

They let go of the footmen who took the corgis for a walk by carrying them in a sedan chair. But even after they'd cancelled the subscription to the Sky Sports Dressage Channel and agreed to stop buying What Castle magazine, they were still A?30m over. The Queen thought she could save a few more pence if she simply handed her mum the telegram for reaching 100, but it was still not enough.

Then she looked at her phone bill and realised that she could update her "friends and family" list, as she doesn't ring those numbers in Nepal any more.

Maybe the only way to make any real dent in the cost of the monarchy is to introduce a public finance initiative. This is supposed to be the solution to everything else, so I don't see why the royal family should be spared. Private companies could be brought in to run the royal family more efficiently. Foreign dignitaries attending state banquets would have to queue up and opt for Chicken McNuggets or Big Mac and fries.
This will never happen of course; this is the British royal family we are talking about, not just some school or hospital. Funny how it's only the things that we really value that we can't afford to pay for.


how do I cultivate her to take the initiative to do the job. She started being very shy these days


I have a housemate. Let's call him Ricardo. Ricardo is a great person and would bend over backwards for me, and has helped me out a lot in the past. He works full time at a 9-5 type job and usually just watches TV when he's not at work. He has taken it upon himself to be the one who buys household things like toilet paper, soap, and other cleaning supplies, and most of the kitchen stuff us his.

I, on the otherhand, have an on/off schedule, where when I'm on, I work 14-20 hour days, even pulling all nighters on occasion for weeks at a time. I get a few short breaks with one long break a year.

Now neither of us are neat freaks. Ricardo loves shopping and is a pack rat who won't throw something away if he thinks there might be a use for them in 1000 years, and I'm the type of person who starts one thing before I finish the other, and putting things away isn't high on my list of priorities.

However, I don't like messes and when I am off, I do clean, and I'm a perfectionist when it comes to cleaning.

I do most of the cleaning in the house. Ricardo will only clean when I ask him to, and I have to be very specific about what needs to be done. He seldom takes the initiative to clean on his own. This had only been a slight point of annoyance for me. Ricardo's family had house keepers so he wasn't really aware that things get dirty even when people don't make messes, and it would never occur to him to wash the baseboards or clean the dust off the ceiling fan or anything like that. Plus, I never really said anything because his job keeps him on his feet most of the day and I've worked jobs like that and I know how physically tiring they are. I have been on the one long break I get a year as of late, and have actually done a good deal of cleaning, but the house usually looks cluttered because it is only me cleaning and I can't keep up with it on my own. I have cleaned the house over multiple times, organized shelves, and cleaned the yard, scrubbed the walls, done the floors, etc etc etc, and still, and by the time I'm done with one thing, the previous thing I cleaned is reverting back to it's normal messy state. That's fine. That's life. But the other day we got on a subject and he made a comment implying I never clean.

I got seriously ticked off. Apparently he thinks I sit around all day doing nothing.

Should I stop cleaning and let him see what a messy house really looks like or should I blast him for it, both, or just let it go?


Alan Keyes on welfare:

It is a concept that emphasizes human needs while neglecting human capacities. It stresses individual helplessness and weakness, undermining the sense of personal responsibility. It justifies ever greater concentrations of power in the hands of the state, leaving people each day more powerless to effect and improve their own condition. This bad concept leads to institutions and policies that disable individual initiative, motivation, and creativity. Faced with political and social structures that embody the assumption of individual impotence, individuals acquire the passive habits and expectations that go with it.



Alan Keyes on bureaucracies:

Bureaucracies are inherently antidemocratic. Bureaucrats derive their power from their position in the structure, not from their relations with the people they are supposed to serve. The people are not masters of the bureaucracy, but its clients. They receive its services, but only insofar as they conform to its authority. The bureaucracy is like a computer; it responds only to those who address it in the proper form. In this sense, a bureaucratic government program has a double meaning: The program serves its clients, but it also programs them.




Alan Keyes on a constitutional amendment to limit borrowing and spending.


We must take away the governmenta��s credit card. With limits on both tax revenue and borrowing, the Federal government would finally be forced to get serious about spending cuts. Thata��s why a balanced budget amendment to the Constitution, with barriers to both borrowing and spending, is the best way to secure budget discipline.




Alan Keyes on how affirmative action turns back the clock


I read American sagas (of the west) and I do not see people who went in search of material things. I see people who wrote down that what they sought was an escape from an old world which dictated their conscience and established their merit based on who their parents.

That is one of the reasons I oppose this whole Affirmative Action business. We are not supposed to be judged based on what our ancestors did or suffered. We are supposed to be judged as individuals, based on what we are able to achieve.

And when you tell me that somebodya��s skin color or gender is going to determine their prospects in this world, that is turning the clock back hundreds of years. Back to a time before this nation declared that all men are created equal and endowed by their creator; not by their ancestry, not by their skin color, not by their gender, not by Congress, not by the Constitution, and not by the laws.




Our rights come from God, not from the Constitution


Keyes asked [a group of 5th grade students] where their rights came from.
a�?The Bill of Rights?a�? one youngster asked. No, said Keyes.
a�?Us?a�? No.
a�?The government?a�? No.
a�?Martin Luther King?a�? No, a�?but he understood where our rights came from,a�? Keyes said.
a�?The Constitution?a�? No.
Finally, a girl raised her hand, sat up straight, and said, a�?The rights come from God.a�? Keyes had his answer.




Preferential affirmative action is patronizing.


Preferential affirmative action patronizes American blacks, women, and others by presuming that they cannot succeed on their own. Preferential affirmative action does not advance civil rights in this country. It is merely another government patronage program that secures money and jobs for the few people who benefit from it, and breeds resentment in the many who do not. It divides us as a people.


IThis question I suppose is mostly for ladies. Has anyone dated, is dating or married to a man who seems to be just not the 'manly' type. In saying that I mean, Ive been dating this guy for 7 years. he proposed, I accepted. No date has been set. We get along very well, sometimes more on a friendly basis, but i feel its the right thing to do. Sometimes he drives me crazy. I sometimes feel like the man and the woman in the relationship. At night, he doesnt check the doors to see if their locked, he doesnt do yard work, he doesnt know how to fix things (change light bulbs, running toilets etc) just minor things around the house. We have a garage, he parks in the garage instead of letting me cuz Im the woman and i shouldnt have to walk outside in the dark. He doesnt take initiative to do anything. He asks questins about everything before he does it as if he needs approval. Things of that nature. Sometimes it bothers me that he doesnt take control of any situation and sometimes i ignore it and mumble under my breath. I do realize he was kicked out of the house at an early age and just wasnt taught to do alot of things, but gosh that was many many years ago. I sometimes wonder why i stayed in this relationship for so long knowing this is how he is, but now I wonder if i should go thru with the marriage knowing that these are things that kinda get under my skin. The good thing is he is trust worthy, nice, hardworking at his job but sometimes the other things over rule and I get irritated easy. I feel like if I let him go, Ive in a sense let go of someone that is good but not capable of doing things when i could have ended up with someone who is an alcoholic, lazy, drug abuser or user. It probably sounds like Im settling, its not that at all.Is there anyone out there who knows what Im talking about or have experienced this?

how to become a physical therapist

This week on the healthcare Jobcast (#15) Andrea talks about becoming a Physical Therapist (download mp3) 3 min Physical therapy is a rapidly growing.Because a physical therapist nowadays must not only treat patients, but also be able to assess and diagnose them, educational and training requirements have increased. A decade ago a bachelors degree and licensing were all that were ...I want to work in the medical field but nothing dealing with . I figure a pharmisist or a physical therapist would work good for me. I'm really athletic.Detroit-area physical therapist pleads guilty in Medicare fraud scheme Examiner.com In his plea, Aziz, a licensed physical therapist , admitted that he worked as a contract therapist for a co-conspirator who pleaded guilty to similar ...Physical therapist asks for change in coverage Edmond Sun Traditionally, physical therapists are recognized for their vital role in improving quality of life and reducing pain for individuals across a broad a�� and more A�. Visit link: ...An overview of physical therapist assistant's career field is discussed. Entry level and continuing education requirements are provided, along with licensure procedures.Basically, an animal physical therapist helps the animal to move again after it has suffered from some debilitating illness, surgery, or some kind of physical.Physical therapy is one of the highest rated professions in national job satisfaction surveys, and US News and World Report ...Samuel Owiredu, of Akwapim-Lavtch, Ghana, will be one of 26 students earning doctorates in physical therapy Saturday. When he made the decision to become a physical therapist, there were 36 physical therapists in Ghana, ...okay im thinking i want to either be a physical therapist or a personal trainer but im not so sure exactly what i should major in.. ? i was thinking maybe in.
My partner went to a military academy when he was younger, and after years of intense hazing, physical abuse and just plain unhappiness (he was 15 at the time), he picked up a few souveniers, one of them being PTSD.

He often has recurring dreams of his time at the military academy, and he has irregular sleeping habbits (will stay up until 6 in the AM, sleep until 12, etc), barely eats, can never focus, room is a wreck, and his social skills are disastorous. He's likeable, confident, and has a fair amount of friends, but of course, vindictive, and it becomes apparent when odd, insignificant things provoke him to the point of nearly popping a vein in his forehead, and he has sideways ways of expressing it (badmouthing close friends, lying, playing games, etc.).

He treats people close to him like pond scum, and refuses to show emotion. However, cigarettes and heavy drinking are like a security blanket to him; I've never seen someone tear through a pack of menthols or a fifth of liquor like he does.

But in reality he's a bright, strong, likeable young man under all the malevolent layers he's put on, and I want to help him out more than anything. However, talking to a therapist isn't an option for him. He's 18 and doesn't want it on his record.

How can I help him? What are some treatments psychologists use to treat PTSD, that I could do at home? Is a military career recommendable for him?

Thank you.


so im aspiring to become a physical therapist, but because it is so difficult to get in these days i may need a job to help pay the bills til i get in school.
I hear massage therapy is a good way to go about it and its even something i may be able to keep through my schooling. How do i become trained and certified to do this? what are the requirements?





I'm really interested in becoming a physical therapist. However, my GPA isn't that great. Currently, I'm a junior in college, planning to start applying to schools fall 2010 and begin a program summer/fall 2011. My GPA as of the spring was a 3.04. I still have 40+ credits to take after this semester, so I can boost my GPA to maybe a 3.1 or 3.2. I'm not sure how much I'll be able to get it up before applications start, though.

I'm doing a double major in kinesiology and psychology. I don't know if the fact that I'm doing a double major will impact the way that admissions offices view my low GPA or not. Thoughts?

If I do really well on the GRE, would I/where would I have a shot at getting in? What else can I do to improve my chances? I know I need good recommendations and observation/volunteer hours in at least 2 different PT settings.

Ideally I'd like to hear from people who are currently in a DPT program, or who just graduated from a DPT program. But I welcome input from others as well. Also, if you're in or graduated from a DPT program, would you mind telling me what school? Thanks!


I graduate HS in 2005 and in 07 I took Biology and Anatomy and Physiology because my intended major was physical therapy. I then later changed to education and now have realized I would much rather become a Occupational Therapist so am switching back.

I must take Physics and Chemistry, but am wondering which one would be easier or better to take first? I must take Physics, stats, and chemistry as pre-reqs to enter the schools for Occupational Therapy.

Thank you


Hi, I'm a freshman in expoloration at Ohio State, and I'm torn between Exercise Science and Psychology with a minor in Behaviorial Neuroscience. I plan to go to medical school, and my fall back is to either continue schooling to become a spinal physical therapist or go into horse showing/training, which I've done for about 11 years. I'm just looking for anyone, anywhere, who has had any major similar to these and gone on to med school to give their opinion on the majors. I'll take any and all advice, I'm just looking for input on how the majors prepared you, the content, and how they related to your likes and dislikes. Thanks!!


Im asking this as I went through around a year without a real job, finally changed careers to become an EMT, although I enjoyed it, I was merely doing community service til I got my new Drivers license. then I finally got my dream job as a game developer for a game studio startup developing a MMO. granted Im happy with that, but I cant help but to feel this vague non descript sick feeling. Being an EMT, I've learned to be aware of symptoms, and promptly react and deal with them. Right now I feel not so right, worrying about getting sick when i have nothing wrong with myself, or getting hurt or access to help aka 911(Im by myself in a brand new apartment) when I vent with myself, try to verbally "pysche" myself up during a stressfull situation I tend to feel a bit better.I find at times I want to break down, ( yes i have at a point or another almost broke down crying) not to mention i moved 1000 miles away from my family for this job. COuld it my phsyical symptoms be a psychosomatic manifestation of my depression/stress of the past year built up? Im going for a physical this wednesday, doing a full work up, liver enzymes, PSA, thryoid, blood sugar, and EKG/ECG, cholestrol/tri's,, testicular examnination (cough cough test) even cancer markers just to be safe its nothing physical. I've taken to working out running at my fitness center which helped a bit, but wondering what i can do to resolve this.i really don't want to medication for this, as the side effects are extreme for my comfort level, should I start seeing a therapist perhaps? maybe I should eat certain foods? I find when i cook or cook for my friends I feel relaxed. Should I perhaps do something that continually involves my friends/co workers? should i speak to someone in confidence? just confused.
also i find myself at times very anxious, heart palpitations, fluttering, momentary chest pain, increased heart rate, rapid respirations from time to time, which in turns makes me feel sick or at times out of tune of things around me. though it has finally relaxed a lot more, now I think more depressed than anything. just thought id add that too.
eggman try not to get too snappy at me pls, im just asking nothing more, trying to educate myself, as a EMT, im not certified or trained in depth in pscyhological medicine, as I said its more Truama based e.g. MVA's, falls, injuries, including resp/cardiac calls etc. so although im coming here for information, There are plenty of people who have access to information, or know what i dont know, that can better educate me so when i got o my phsycian I can ask more informed questions.
ive read it in small detail, but not fully, Ill have to look into it I guess and read some literature as well as speak to my physician. I knew that depression and anixety can cause some non descript symptoms but not so much with acute symptoms, but oh well live and learn. Although,im an EMT im more trained in Emergency Truama medicine in the field, not centered around pscyhological issues. Im just asking merely for clarification from someone who may know or has some specific information/link regarding this til I can go to my physican this wednesday, so I perhaps know what questions to ask him/her.


My grandmother passed away in June after a 9 year battle with cancer. Since then, I have had dreams about her nearly every night. In the dreams, I am aware that she has passed on. At first, the dreams took place either at the funeral home, at the funeral, or at my grandparent's ranch, where we would be discussing the funeral. In this particular dreams, my grandmother would walk up to me, looking as she did in the earlier years of her battle against cancer, healthy and happy, and I would tell her how much I love her and miss her. She would smile and usually didn't talk.

However, my dreams have become more disturbing and bizarre now. For example, last month I had a dream about my grandmother but she appeared as a rotting corpse. In the dream, I was aware that I was seeing her as she physically is...rotting underground. She was talking to me, I can't remember what she said, but I remember being horrified. In these dreams, my grandfather was remodeling the entire ranch and my grandmother was coming to see the progress and I would bump into her and talk. I was very disturbed with these dreams.

Within the week, the dreams have progressed into something even more frightening. In one, my grandmother's body has been dug up and placed on a front porch swing and my grandfather is telling me he just wants her there to feel close. It is alarming. Then, I find out that he has resurrected her, but the resurrected woman is not the same. She is physically there, but her soul has passed on.

The last dream, she appeared before my mom, my aunts, myself, and my grandfather and my grandfather had to hold her because she was climbing walls and screaming. Like I said, it was like her soul was gone, but he had somehow brought back his wife's physical body to be around us.

She broke loose from him and I chased after her, as I was the youngest and most sprite, and she led me down a stairwell and she walked into a doorway and as she ran, she had gone back in time age wise and she was about 20. She turned and smiled at me and told me I could not follow her here and that no one could see her go inside but me. So, I slammed the door shut to this basement area and she nodded and then disappeared into the dark on the other side of the door and I woke up.

What does this mean?? I have seen many therapists, I am on medication, but I cannot stop these dreams. I know I am mourning her, but its becoming more and more bizarre.


i currently am doing a career project for one of my college classes. part of the project is to interview someone from your aspiring field of career. i am aspiring to become a physical therapist. i need help finding a physical therapist place so i can interview someone (if they choose). i live in new jersey and i would appreciate if someone could direct me to someone/somewhere in union county new jersey. if you have someone in mind particular tell me.


I'm applying for college this year, I'm almost done with all of them. My dad wants me to become a Physical Therapist like my aunt since she isn't having any trouble with the economy and getting a job and stuff. So that's what I applied for, and some of the colleges required me to choose a second course, I chose something in the arts or media. My sister and my mom says that I have a talent and tell me not to listen to my dad, but with the economy and such, it scares me, plus I'd like the chance to travel abroad and work there. I've been talking to my friend and he's planning on taking BS psych cause he wants to make toxins or whatever, and I ask him why isn't he afraid of the economy and all that, and he says "sigh, the economy, you only get to live once" and he started talking to me about the chemical reactions blah blah blah, and i asked him how he knows so much, and he says he does research in his free time. So it got me thinking, what do I do in my spare time? I look at clothes and make up looks, not trends but more like, interesting clothes that are more like art than just a trend. But, if I pursue something like this as a career, its scared me cause what if I lose interest? Then I'm stuck with that degree. I applied for Advertising arts and Broadcasting Comm.


Which job do you think will be a better career choice? and which makes more money? If youar either a nurse or a physical therapist can you tell me about the school you went to and how you became one?


I am in high school and I want to become a physical therapist in sports medicine. During college I would like to become a fire fighter you know so I can get some money to help my parents pay for college. Should I become a firefighter or would it be a better idea to get an internship at a PT office? Where i live fire fighters work one day, then they are off for two days. Would this be enough off days to study to become a physical therapist?


Well, I don't know if I suck, but it's just our biology teacher in sophomore year sucked, go into our classroom, tell us to read this page to that page and leave the room, NOT KIDDING. But in the days when we had a different teacher (like a substitute) we got to dissect and do a lot of hands on stuff, and I got As. Anyways, now as a senior, I'm applying to take Physical Therapy for college, and while I take their entrance exams (explain: we don't have SATs in asia, we have to go to the school and take the exams they made) I find myself TRYING to make wise guesses in the science parts. I mean, I want to become a PT cause of all the hand on stuff and being able to see my patients progress as they get better (gives a good feeling inside) but, should I still go on with this? Like, if ever I do get accepted to the Physical Therapy schools should I go? I applied to other colleges and took my *just for fun courses, like I'm pretty good at arts and media stuff but I've always just looked at it as a side thing, nothing I could ever make a career out of.


Also Can i use the GI Bill from the Army mos21 bravo to accomplish my dream of being a Physical Therapist





Ok here's the deal. My dad was in the Navy so we have the military's insurance (I'm 21 so I'm still seen there and covered by my parent's insurance). I have to be seen at the Naval base for my insurance to cover me. If I go into the naval base to see the doctor and they refer me to be seen by someone else, like a specialist, then the insurance will cover it.

So, I go into see a doctor at the Naval base about my back. I have scoliosis and crohn's disease. The reason I mention my crohn's disease is because I'm not able to take any kind of motrin, IB Profein or anything like that. So when I went to the doctor I wanted him to refer me to a specialist. I had made appointments with two kinds of doctors that are in the network so I'm able to be covered by the insurance. The doctors that I made appointments with was a Neurologist (because I have tingling and numbness in my feet) and a Pain Management Doctor (because I'm in a lot of pain). The doctor tells me that we can't abuse the specialists. He says this meaning, I haven't come in enough times to be seen for my back, or I'm not worth being seen by a specialist, I'm not sure. But he does a quick 1,2,3 check on my back prescribes me some Percecets, sends me on my way, and tells me to come back in 3 weeks. I was furious in the appointment and I let him know my thoughts and feelings during the appointment. I have had the pain in my back since I can remember and it's been getting worse and worse and finally it's gotten to the point where I need to find a doctor for help cause it's becoming unbearable. My dad's a physical therapist and I've been doing the exercises and stretches he's given me. The doctor knows that as well. The doctor also claims that I need to have a "base" before I see a specialist and also claims that I'm not ready for a specialist. By base does he mean more pain?!?! And by not ready for a specialist does he mean that I should wait until I'm in more pain before seeing a specialist? Isn't the whole point of health care to take care of the problem before it gets worse? He's an HMO, and correct me if I'm wrong, but HMOs are supposed to practice preventative care. I'm not sure that sending me home with no X-Rays or an MRI is very preventative. How am I supposed to get better if he doesn't take a look at an X-Ray to see what I'm complaining about?

What should I do? I can't just go see just any doctor that I want because of my insurance. Is it ethical to refuse to refer you to a specialist doctor to be treated if you're not going to treat it yourself? Am I completely wrong about all of this?

Thanks for the feedback in advance.


I am a student in college and I live with my aunt and uncle and they just had a baby. His first and second week home, he was great. Really quiet, really alert, and slept like a rock. On the third week, he had a urinary tract infection and he was in the hospital for a week getting poked and tested over and over. After that, he was a changed baby. Now, he has trouble sleeping, and naps about one hour and then wakes up really really cranky and always looks angsty. It's really frustrating sometimes because my aunt becomes overwhelmed and cries because she doesn't know what to do; and often is just restless. The baby is also restless and cries for about an hour every night; red in the face, tears all over, and his voice gets hoarse; before he goes to sleep. He sleeps pretty well throughout the night and does well in the day, with an ocassional fussiness episode between the hours of 12pm-2pm. Lately we notice that he looks at the ceiling a lot. He laughs all the time, and coos with us and at us. He was a full term baby and is extremely alert for his age. He likes to watch tv and cartoons, and we think its because the colors catch his attention. Last night he was up for about 2 hours crying and crying and finally caught his sleep but woke up about 10 minutes later and cried some more and then slept about 3 hours straight. His nightly sleep pattern is strange and worries us. Today we were at my grandmas and he was staring at the ceiling fan, and my mom said "Don't let him stare at it!" and I asked her why and she said that fixation on ceiling fans are often a sign of autism. It really worried me. I didn't tell me aunt but it's had me thinking a lot. My mom is a physical therapist so I trust her judgement, but she said all in all we have nothing to worry about because he's too young and interacts with us. Today he was also looking at the ceiling again and bursted out in laughter and cooed a few times. At our house, he lays down for a bit, but then gets frustrated and starts moving around a lot and whining. Today at my grandma's we layed him down and he was fine; smiling, cooing, and staring at everyone. Can anyone tell me what they think it is. He has a very very hard time going to sleep? Anyone with experience about this.


i am a senior in high school and plan on going to community college to do my core and then i want to become a phyical therapist but not sure what my choices are after i get my core out of the way... please help... thanks. p.s. if you are a PT please tell me how u got your degree.


When i grow up, i want to be a pediatric physical therapist. I love little kids, and i've always wanted to be a nurse. But me and blood/needles/veins don't go together, i would end up passing out every time I delt with it. So being a PT sounds like a good job for me. Is it hard to get into a PT school? Is it a competitive school? How long does it take to become one? What subjects do you need to be really good at?


I already have a BA in Business Admin. and was thinking of becoming a Physical therapist or Optometrist. Ofcourse I dont have all the prerequisites for either program yet and I read that the PT programs are very hard to get into. I wouldlike to take a first step by getting a diploma in opticianry or personal support worker or practical nursing.. If you can suggest a better career option altogether that would be welcomed advice or just the best route to take. I also looked into acupuncture and chiropractic studies...


I began a massage practice almost two years ago. I own this business. I have recently become interested in getting a degree in physical therapy. I do not however want to quit building my business as a massage therapist. I wonder if I can do both at the same time, or if maybe there are slow steps I could take in the mean time so that later on it would be easier to pursue this type of degree.
I am under the impression that in some fields such as nursing, you have to go through the schooling very fast without taking a break from it and do full loads of course work. If what you say is true that i can persue this type of degree slowly then it probably is a great idea for me.


I am trying to decide, and your input would help greatly. I want to focus on the orthopedic field of study but I don't know weather to go to school for physicans assistant or physical therapist.


Well I'm a senior in high school in Tennessee, I have a 22 on my ACT and my GPA is around 2.5 I'm guessing higher than that but im not really sure because our guidance teachers haven't done ours yet. What I'm asking is what I have to major in, and what my minor should be, how many years of school I'd have to attend and what I'd have to do after I get out of college like another school? And how would I go about finding an opening as a physical therapist assistant


hi, im 21 yr old 3nd yr college student.

originally, i wanted to do engineering, but i am having major second thoughts. although i am good at the coursework i dont enjoy it.

i realized that i really want a career that i will be able to help and interact with other people thus leading me to physical therapy.

i have a 3.1 gpa and my major is was ChemE. i have already took organic 1, organic 2, calc 2, calc 3, college physics 1, college physics 2 so i have taken a very challenging course load.

what gpa should i be aiming for to have a shot at physical therapy school?


Starting from a high school graduate.


I want to become a physical therapist and i need to know what classes i need to take so i can narrow down which college i should go to.


Hey all

I'm currently enrolled in a community college taking prereq's for physical therapy. I think it would be great to have some experience as a massage therapist before becoming a Physical therapist. I haven't done much research, but how easily can i get certified and hired as a massage therapist, and how much do they make?

I'd be working part time since i'd still be going to school for some time...


I was just wondering the difference between a regular pt versus a traveling one. I know they travel but where to? hospitals? with sports teams? whats the real meaning and job description of a traveling pt. And does it take longer than becoming a regular pt?


do i have to get accepted into a college before I apply for a GRANT and Financial Aid?? R they both the same? Can anyone give me a good site where I can get grants and stuff. I want to go college to become a Physical Therapist also, but I hate biology, do I have to be good at Science??? I also want to major in Business. Help me out. Tell me a bout a student loan also


Based off of opinions thank you


I am debating on a couple of careers and would like your help.

Questions
1. How much schooling does it take?
2. What are all of the qualifications?
3. What is the range of salary?
4. What do you think about this career?
5. Do you know anyone who is a a Physical Therapist? Do they like their job?
6. What are the prerequisites that you need to take in PA?

I really want to help people and I was thinking about this as maybe a possible career. thank you so much for any help you can give me.


So I am thinking about majoring in athletic training, because its offered at the college I want to go to. is that a good major to be a physical therapist? i know you have to take certain classes to get into a physical therapy program, and I was wondering if it is the same classes to be an athletic trainer as it would be to become a physical therapist.
has anybody done the same thing? thanks.


This is somewhat long, but very serious. Please tell me what you know I should do.

For about six months, my girlfriend's therapist is charging her just to go in and lay down on the couch, sometimes to say nothing at all!

Unfortunately, some patients with depression, are unable to speak their mind and can by manipulated by people very easily, because they lack assertiveness.

My girlfriend doesn't make much money, and I think she spends about 70% of her income on "treatment" twice a week, which is 30 miles away, which obviously takes a hit on gas money.

The therapist has only been practicing for a year or two, I think. This therapist charges a high amount. She see's the therapist twice a week for 50 minutes each.

In therapy, the therapist is critical, judgmental, and get's mad at her for her behavior and stuff like that. She tells her that she has a "distorted" perspective of reality. Which I don't think is necessarily true, since a majority of depressed people have a negative explanatory style. She also has an unprofessional vocabulary, she has called me "retarded," because I have PDD-NOS (Pervasive Development Disorder - Not Otherwise Specified) and I have General Anxiety Disorder.

Although my girlfriend feels more comfortable, the therapists tries to behave and speak as if they were good FRIENDS. I am certain this violates the ethics of CAMFT and AAMFT.

There are many times when my girlfriend simply has nothing to talk about, and so the therapist "BELIEVES" in NOT asking questions. What kind of therapist doesn't ask questions? How did she even reach a diagnoses without asking questions? Treatment is unhelpful and inefficient by NEGLECTING the patient.

So she will sit there, do NOTHING for 50 minutes, sometimes both days of the week, and she will still be charged and not asked if she would like to leave early. I know many therapists who will allow their patient to leave if nothing can be discussed at NO charge.

This is very unprofessional and unethical, in my opinion. The reason it is unethical is because she is taking advantage of my gf's condition, which is depression. Unfortunately, some patients with depression, are unable to speak their mind and can by manipulated by people very easily, because they lack assertiveness.

I wonder if this therapist is doing this to anyone else. I think it is necessary for the therapist to be reviewed by a license/certificate provider, like CAMFT and AAMFT. Unfortunately, I am a third party and cannot do much except try to convince my gf to stop seeing her. However, my gf is reluctant to do that because she doesn't want to "explain" everything again to someone else.

Ethical Standards in Question:

1.2 Marriage and family therapists are aware of their influential position with respect to patients, and they avoid exploiting the trust and dependency of such persons. Marriage and family therapists therefore avoid dual relationshipsiv with patients that are reasonably likely to impair professional judgment or lead to exploitation. A dual relationship occurs when a therapist and his/her patient engage in a separate and distinct relationship either simultaneously with the therapeutic relationship, or during a reasonable period of time following the termination of the therapeutic relationship. Not all dual relationships are unethical, and some dual relationships cannot be avoided. When a dual relationship cannot be avoided, therapists take appropriate professional precautions to insure that judgment is not impaired and that no exploitation occurs.

1.3.1 - Marriage and family therapists terminate therapeutic relationships for clinically sound reasons and in an appropriate manner. Reasons for termination may include, but are not limited to, the patient is not benefiting from treatment, continuing treatment is not clinically appropriate, the therapist is unable to provide treatment due to physical or mental illness, or the treatment becomes ethically questionable.

1.3.3 - It is unethical to maintain therapeutic relationships solely for financial reasons.

1.6 - Marriage and family therapists continue therapeutic relationships only so long as it is reasonably clear that patients are benefiting from the relationship.

1.8 - Marriage and family therapists do not abandon or neglect patients in treatment. If a therapist is unable to continue to provide care, the therapist will assist the patient in making reasonable arrangements for continuation of treatment.

1.16 - When a marriage and family therapist is not located in the same geographic area as the patient, he/she shall provide a name of another qualified mental health care professional and/or entity in the patient's locale for contact in case of emergency.

3.10 - Marriage and family therapists do not assess, test, diagnose, treat, or advise on problems beyond the level of their competence as determined by their education, training and experience. While developing new areas of pract


I haven't had proper preventive treatment for TB, and I'm concerned about getting it.

Actually, this is my friend's issue. Thanks.


I think I want to become one.
Now, I am not good at chemistry and physics OR math.
But just because of that, I dont think I should be ruled out!
Im good at English and Human Anatomy.
And I can work hard!

But, do you think I can become one?
What are the requirements?
Is it a rewarding job?
Whats your typical day?
How long is your education?
What's your salary?

Thank you!


My daughter is in her 2nd year of a prestigous college and doing very well. She just delivered a beautiful grandaughter and we as a family made the decision for her to remain in college and her daughter will stay with me as she continues school 4 hours away..she will come home as much as possible (wknds, holidays, summer) but will push through summer school and all and not lose sight on her career goals as we feel it is even more important now. However, she has asked a very important question that I'm not sure how to answer because of very valid points. Need opinions please....6 years (masters needed) to become a higher paid PT or 2 years to become a lower paid PTA? The pay may be a difference but 4 years of school and a HUGE student loan (a masters program can cost the amnt of a 2bdrm condo) may make up the difference in salary for YEARS...or not??? Don't want to take the fast route & feel like we rushed it because she is a mom...I would rather she have a secure future....
Should add a huge part of the decision to remain 4 hours away is partly for the HUGE scholorship thats covering 3/4 of the cost.
Scholorship covers only through BA...but the plan is to take transferable classes at local community college during summer and finish earlier then originally planned 4 years.


I like tattoos and want a few within the next few years (I'm 15) And I like piercings. I want my tongue, lip or eyebrow done within the next couple of years too. I want to be in a band, or be a singer. That tours and plays shows!(i play guitar, sing and play piano) Maybe even be in a screamo band (as long as I dont sing that is. And I may even have the opportunity to be in one with my friends soon). I want to do fun things with my hair. Like with a cool color like pink witha streak or two in my hair. I like the scene/emo looking boys that have tattoos and peircings. My dad however wants me to live my life like this. He wants me to be a physical therapist (which is my career choice if I dont become part of a band) and marry a doctor. He doesnt want me to have any peircings or tats. He said "You will never marry a doctor with pericings and tattoos." He doesnt want me to do anything with my hair. He kicked my sister out at age 16 and I'm scared he may kick me out if I do anything like this. And I dont EVEN want to think about telling him I want to launch my music career right after high school. HELP! WHAT DO I DO!

-Sarah Michelle
Remember this name ^^^. You'll be screaming it one day when I'm famous ;)


Please, if somebody can help I need to know what I need to do to become a physical therapist.


I really think I want to be a physical therapist when I get out of high school. So I was wondering what schools are good for pt? What subjects should I study up on now? What all is important to be a pt? Where can I work if I become a pt? Any knowledge you guys out there have would be very much appreciated! This is something I really think I'm interested in. I'm 16 and a junior in high school by the way.





i am a freshman in high school but i have already decided what i want to be i want to be a physical therapist but i am not sure what level of education is necessary to become this please help i will choose best answer my plan is to become a physical therapist then ultimately open up my own clinic


I am looking to go in as a medical enlistee eventually wanting to become a Physical Therapist. Which branch would give me the best opportunity?
Anyone who's served in both branches are welcome to answer, thank you.


I wish just wondering if you need to have excellent grades to become a physical therapist..just like you nearly must have outstanding grades to become a physican?


I'm pretty sure that I want to be a physical therapist after high school. I'm a junior this year in high school. I can't change my schedule now to take classes suitable to becoming a physical therapist. So I was wondering what kind of classes I should take next year that will help me to become a physical therapist. Also, what kinds of books could I read and what kind of stuff should I study on my own?


am not sure whether i should put down working as a receptionist at a podiatry office... i know that's not clinical hands on work...but should i? I did 240 hours there. then i volunteered at a physical therapist office because at that time, i wanted to become a PT. Should i put that down on my work experience on CASPA?? I'm not even sure if they would consider those hours or laugh at me. someone answer my question and please be a advisor or someone who knows the answer, not just phony comments. Also, how long are personal interviews and what do they ask??


It is very confusing and there are tons of grammar errors, i was wondering if anyone can help!
please and thank you!


The fields of medicine and anatomy/physiology have always been an interest to me. At first I thought that majoring in physical therapy would suit me well, because I believed that combining my interest of sports with physical therapy would be a career that I could definitely see myself enjoying in the long run. But, then I began thinking that I am also interested in medicine, and that to be able to help people in a unique way by finding cures for different diseases would be a great way to give back to the community, and to the world as a whole. I stress the fact that giving back to my community as a resourceful tool of giving people back what someone once gave me, which was a chance to be all that I can be, just by listening to my story. I was introduced to physical therapy through my mothera��s friend, who is a physical therapist, and explained to me the variety of combinations that I could do, such as combining sports medicine with physical therapy. Another factor that determined why I would major in physical therapy is because when I thought about how I could travel on a sports team such as the Lakers, or Spurs, or the Wizards, I became head over heels for this major, and felt that since I would not be able to play professional basketball or tennis, I could give back to the sport in a way by being able to service the players, and be a part of the sport at the same time. The most important factor to me that has made me choose this major is that I want to be able to enjoy my career in the long run, because when I do I am able to serve my clients better, and I want them to feel as if they are receiving the best care ever. I love this field, and cannot wait to really see what it entails.
ITS NOT MY PAPER!!!!
Sorry Ashley, but it is NOT a good paper, I have been sitting here trying to figure out how to make this paper for her, and i can fix the grammar errors, but making it flow is the problem. It's a mess, (and she's almost 18).
*sorry, not make
*fix


I just started university this fall. I'm currently taking three courses (considered to be a full time student): intro to psychology, intro to sociology, and biology (all required except sociology). In high school, I was an honour roll student throughout (80%+).

I just wrote a biology midterm exam and found myself surprised at how little I actually know. The exam was 5 pages long with multiple choice questions, and was to be written within 50 minutes (completely different from my previous experiences with exams). By the end of the exam, I felt like I had failed it for sure. When the professor posted the answers online a few days later, I checked to compare to my answers. Most of the answers were wrong, and I'm sure I got between 45%-55%. The thing is, the exam supposedly wasn't that hard. The class average is 71%.

I have a psychology midterm exam next friday. After the biology exam, I'm stressed out, embarrassed of my bad grade, and unsure of my future in university. I realized I haven't been studying as much as I did in high school, but that's because I feel uninterested in the subjects I've taken (I know I have to take these courses though). How can I motivate myself to do well in university?

I'm studying to become a physical therapist.


to become a physical therapist specializing in sports medicine, would biology be the right subject to major in in college?
also, what colleges have a good biology/physical therapy program?

im taking 4 years of math and science, even though my school only requires 3 courses in science to graduate.
im only a freshman,but i just wanna make sure im taking the right classes.

any other advice/information would be great
thanks!
also, what other classes should i take in high school to be competitive for colleges?


I live in California, and I want to become a physical therapist when I graduate from high school. The problem is, I don't know of any colleges that have a physical therapy program!